Do We Really Serve an Omniscient God?

February 20, 2014

Your answer is more than likely a resounding “YES!” – (at least I hope it is) You should also be jumping up and down saying He is not only omniscient (all knowing), but also omnipotent (all powerful) and omni-present (always with you) …and He would say you have answered well. But what comes forward today is – ? Do we live like that ?…do we live and operate like we serve an Almighty Omniscient Father?..or do we live like we serve a petty,easily offended, co-worker.

My Dad has been gone for about a year and a half. Even though he was a challenging man to understand and notably inconsistent in my life….I always knew one thing about him my Dad loved me and accepted me with all my shortcomings.  He also had an uncanny way of knowing what I did or was doing even though I saw him very little. I can remember a trip as a 16 yr old  visiting him in LittleRock, Arkansas. One of the many places he inhabited for short business ventures. I had borrowed his new Chrysler Imperial, 1982-Imperial-opt  that one with the swanky slanted trunk and crystal hood ornament (for you younger readers – a hood ornament is…. never mind, google it). I took a left turn onto a main road a little too fast and ended up in the 4-lane median “nose-to-nose” with a light pole. I eased back, pulled off to check the car and when I found no damage I continued with my venture and later headed back to dad’s place assuming he would be none the wiser. I had no sooner opened the front door when dad called out, “Close call there, huh?”  He knew! I never found out how, but he knew.

“Well-Churched” people tend to operate under the assumption that I was working with that day, …”If my father found out what I was doing he would go ballistic”, or “He would be so disappointed”, “shocked”, you can fill in the blank for yourself. When the truth is: your Heavenly Father is never shocked, caught off guard, disappointed, mad, or otherwise unprepared to handle the issues you deal with or create on a day-to-day basis.  What He did on the cross 2000 years ago was all encompassing.  He knew you then and He knows you now and He knows what mess you will make tomorrow. That’s why He came to live with us…He knew we couldn’t do it alone. So after Jesus came to show us the way and introduced Himself to His disciples and a few thousand others, He moved Home and sent the Holy Spirit to continue introducing Himself to the world.

So relax today, we do not have to carry the load… He has reconciled us unto Himself. If you are struggling with something you’ve done He is already there to hold you and comfort you and encourage you,  just talk to Him. He will change you in your circumstances (yes, “in”, not “and”) if you seek Him with all you heart. God loves you. Isaiah 41:10.

Leave a comment